hp 41 cv

Re: hp 41 cv

Postby Survey1 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:01 pm

Well I am at step 141, the last step is 142. Should it have ended by itself????? Or do I have to input (goto..)....
Survey1
....
....
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 9:47 pm

Re: hp 41 cv

Postby Survey1 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 4:25 pm

Well I am getting annoyed now, after I re-input all data again, went to EXEC ALPHA ABC and it sad NONEXISTENT AGAIN....
I am doing something very wrong. In the program it begins like this: 001 LBL "ABC"
Is this input like this: SHIFT LBL ALPHA ABC ALPHA?????
Survey1
....
....
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 9:47 pm

Re: hp 41 cv

Postby Garth » Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:50 am

Wow, it's nice to have the forum back up. It was down for days!

What you say to enter the alpha label should work. After you press the ALPHA key again to finish the label, does the display say "01 LBL ABC" with the little raised "T" before "ABC"?

If you have the <shift>LBL key assigned to anything else, you'll have to turn off the USER keyboard, or you'll get something else. It sounds like you're probably not far enough along to be likely to be using the USER key assignments though.
http://WilsonMinesCo.com (60 HP-41 links on the links page)
Garth
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 1:31 am

Re: hp 41 cv

Postby Survey1 » Sun Jan 03, 2016 2:12 pm

Yeahhhhh back up!!!! Happy new year, well last night I had examples 2,3 an 4 working . (examples on triangle solution program input sheet ) number 1 did not work properly, so I tried to fix program and I guess I messed them all up again.....
How do I delete old program to put new input in?????? Just go to end of program and hit back arrow key? I was so close to the program entry, I should have left it alone lol. I probaly still have wrong inputs in program.....I will get it...someday...lol
Thanks
Steve
Survey1
....
....
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 9:47 pm

Re: hp 41 cv

Postby Survey1 » Sun Jan 03, 2016 6:53 pm

Hey great news,,,,,, I got half of examples to work the 2nd an 4th. Numbers 1 an 3 still say non existent lol. Must b a wrong input somewhere. We r getting there lol
Survey1
....
....
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 9:47 pm

Re: hp 41 cv

Postby Garth » Sun Jan 03, 2016 9:00 pm

Survey1 wrote:How do I delete old program to put new input in?????? Just go to end of program and hit back arrow key?

You can always edit the program; but if you really want to clear it out completely, use CLP (clear program) this way: XEQ ALPHA CLP ALPHA <then it prompts you for the name of the program> ALPHA <enter name of program, ie, the first global label> ALPHA. If the program pointer is already in the program you want to clear out, the just do ALPHA ALPHA (without needing to enter the name) when it prompts you for the name.
http://WilsonMinesCo.com (60 HP-41 links on the links page)
Garth
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 1:31 am

Re: hp 41 cv

Postby Survey1 » Sun Jan 03, 2016 9:23 pm

I would just love to edit program.....but I don't know where and how to edit what is wrong lol. There has to b something I am inputting wrong. Garth if your still on site take a look at program triangle solutions,let me know if u see any trick entries. Thanks
Steve
Survey1
....
....
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 9:47 pm

Re: hp 41 cv

Postby Survey1 » Sun Jan 03, 2016 10:40 pm

Well I guess I am going to keep what I have I can solve examples 2and 4, that's better than nothing. If anyone knows why I can't solve other examples plz let me know
Thx
Steve
Survey1
....
....
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 9:47 pm

Re: hp 41 cv

Postby Garth » Mon Jan 04, 2016 2:21 am

I don't see any trick ones, but I've been doing this for 30 years. There's no synthetic programming or anything that's not in the manual. Do read the manual from cover to cover. HP did a marvelous job of writing the manuals, such that you can just read through, and when you get to the end, you know the machine, without ever having gotten to the hard part—because there was no hard part.

In program mode, you can single-step through the program with SST (and backstep with BST) and see if what you see in the display at each step matches the listing you copied it from. If there's a difference, press the back arrow to get rid of the instruction you're seeing and try again to key in the right one. The new instruction will be inserted where you are in the sequence. If you make a mistake again, you can repeat the process and try as many times as it takes to get it right. dlachieze addressed several of the instruction that are beyond the simplest.
http://WilsonMinesCo.com (60 HP-41 links on the links page)
Garth
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 1:31 am

Previous

Return to Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 1 guest

cron